President Ruto appoints Justin Irina as Murang’a University Chancellor

Must read

Justin Irina has been reappointed as the chancellor of Murang’a University of Technology by President William Ruto.

Irina, an inorganic chemistry professor, has served as chairperson of the Pwani University College Council and vice chancellor of Moi University.

As per the Gazette Notice dated October 19, Irina’s term of office has been extended to five years.

He was appointed to the position by former President Uhuru Kenyatta in 2017.

In the same vein, Ruto appointed Sophia Kutiti Olesambu to lead the Mineral Rights Board.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by section 30 (2) (a) of the Mining Act, I, William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces, appoint Sophia Kutiti Olesambu to be the Chairperson of the Mineral Rights Board, for a period of three years, with effect from the 19th October 2023,” the notice reads.

Collins Oyuu, the secretary general of the Kenya National Union of Teachers, has been appointed by Education Cabinet Secretary Ezekiel Machogu to the Kenya National Qualifications Authority.

Kipkirui Langat, Mike Kuria, Everline Owoko, and Jacqueline Mugo have also been named to the agency.

Additionally, Nickson Wanjau was appointed by Chief Justice Martha Koome to the Auctioneers Licensing Board on October 23 for a three-year term.

Timothy Ruhiu Irimu has been appointed by Labour Cabinet Secretary Florence Bore to the National Council for Occupational Safety and Health, also for a three-year term beginning on October 19.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article