DP Gachagua to head El Nino emergency response team

Must read

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua announced that plans are underway to constitute an emergency response team for the El Nino rains.

The committee among other responsibilities will be tasked with ensuring the country is well prepared for the rains.

They will also come up with strategies that will mitigate the damage anticipated to be caused by these rains.

ALSO READ: 150 killed in Libya floods after rainstorm

The response committee responsibilities

“Next week I will be convening the National Emergency Response Committee,” said Gachagua during a gala dinner organised by Kenya Red Cross.

“I will head it with all government agencies, development partners, the Red Cross, international organisations, and all other stakeholders to discuss our preparedness for the expected El Nino rains,” he added.

Public-private partnerships in anticipation of El Nino rains

Gachagua urged different agencies to work together in preparing for any anticipated disaster.

He also said that the government is working towards a public-private partnership to help in building water harvesting structures like dams across the country.

ALSO READ: Cracks, leaking roofs and holes: The eye-sore that is Karakuta Primary School in Juja

“This will help the government to take advantage of such large amounts of water for food production,” said the second in command.

“I wish to thank the Red Cross and Red Crescent Society for the millions of lives they have touched over the years. We look forward to working closely in building sustainable societies beyond disasters,” he added.

Areas to be affected more by El Nino

Gachagua was representing President William Ruto during the gala that was meant to celebrate over 150 years of experience with the Red Cross and Red Crescent Society.

The Kenya Meteorological Department forecasted heavy rains from October this year to January 2024.

Regions said to be affected more are Trans Nzoia Kakamega, Busia, Vihiga, Elgayo Marakwet, Nandi, Kericho, Siaya, Kisumu, Homa Bay, West Pokot, Nyamira, Migori, Baringo, Uasin Gishu, Narok, Laikipia and Nakuru.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article